Congratulations to PRIMA's 2020 Award Winners

Learn more about all our Award Winners and see team photos HERE


2020 Public Risk Manager of the Year  
Jessica Lyons, Risk Manager 
City of Henderson Henderson, NV

Jessica Lyons is the risk manager for Nevada's largest full-service City, with over fifteen years of experience in public and private risk management. 

As a risk manager for the City of Henderson, Lyons established and promoted city-wide Total Cost of Risk reporting and communication through a new, cloud-based Risk Management Information System (RMIS). Lyons also identified and corrected several areas that left the City exposed in liability coverage, such as environmental site liability, stand-alone terrorism, active shooters, drones and more.
Looking forward, Lyons plans to expand the use of the new RMIS to include Enterprise Risk Management versus simple risk oversight, while continuing to reduce the City's exposure to liability claims and lawsuits; ultimately mitigating undue financial loss to the City and its taxpayers. With current budgetary restraints, strained resources, increased exposures and uncertainty, many of the risks associated with the current crisis are uninsurable risks and will change the way we all conduct our businesses.

2020 Outstanding Achievement Award Winners 

Outstanding Achievement for a Public Risk Management Program Winner:

Shannon Hojnowski
Traumatic Emergency Response Training
Anne Arundel County
Annapolis, MD 

Honorable mention:

Norma Martinez
Class A Commercial Driver’s License Program
City of Sugar Land
Sugar Land, TX

Outstanding Achievement for a Public Risk Management Product Winner:

David Parker
At Work Or Play Safety Leads the Way

Central Arizona Water Conservation District (Central Arizona Project)
Phoenix, AZ 

Honorable mention:

Sarah Creighton
Risk-Aware Decision Tool
Eugene Water & Electric Board
Eugene, OR 

Outstanding Achievement for an Intergovernmental Risk Pool Product or Program Winner (Pool Product):

Stephen Dellerba
Ethics, Liability & Best Practices for Elected Officials Handbook

Colorado Intergovernmental Risk Sharing Authority
Denver, CO 

Honorable mention:

Halie Gallik
Risk & Insurance Symposium
Public Entity Partners
Franklin, TN 

Chapter Recognition Award

Lesley Ward, Chapter President

City of Bryan
Bryan, TX 

To learn more about our Award Recipients go here.



Back to Top